Use Button

Once you click on the "USE" button on any quest then the quest will take that item, so if you have clicked on the use and had to restart the quest, then you will have to make or get whatever that item was again.

When a quest asks you for something, that is because it needs that item to complete the quest, therefore it will take those items from you, once you complete the quest. 

Items you COLLECT stay in the Inventory until you click USE.
But if a quest requires PRODUCING items at Farms and Factories, it means that the very process of producing while a quest is active is what counted towards the quest.

So, if you restart a quest with this condition, you will have to produce the items again.

A good tip to remember is don't click on the " Use" button until you have all of the requested items then click use on all 3 things at that time.